An Extraordinary gazette issued banning 11 extremist Islamic groups in Sri Lanka

Share Button

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has issued an extraordinary gazette notification banning 11 extremist Islamic organizations in Sri Lanka. The Relevant extraordinary gazette was published on Tuesday, as per section 27 of the Prevention of Terrorism Act, No. 48 of 1979. Accordingly, the Prevention of Terrorism Regulations No. 2 of 2021 specified in the gazette notification has proscribed the following extremist Islamic organizations in Sri Lanka banned.
1. United Thawheed Jamma’ath
2. Ceylon Thawheed Jamma’ath
3. Sri Lanka Thawheed Jamma’ath
4. All Ceylon Thawheed Jamma’ath
5. Jamiyathul Ansaari Sunnathul Mohomadiya
6. Dharul Adhar
7. Sri Lanka Islamic Student Movement
8. Islamic State of Iraq and Syria
9. AL – Qaeda
10. Save the Pearl Society
11. Super Muslim
The gazette notification read these extremist Muslim organizations were proscribed with the purpose of ensuring the continuance of peace within the country and in the interest of national security, public order, and the rule of law.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Captcha loading...